abstraction and script

DSC_0371sm

It gets so I don’t know what else to add. I’m trying to move further toward abstraction, and if there is a type of script on the painting, a painted vocabulary, that’s also what I want. I’ve been talking to a couple artists, I feel a bit better about my fumbling stretch.

10 responses to “abstraction and script

  1. If you don’t know what else to add, don’t add anything, it’s probably complete! it looks great to me, watching the painting develop i wondered where you were going with it. Now I know. It appears that abstraction is a sort of simplification, a reduction, a distillation of the essence. P’raps this is where you are going in this picture, I like what I see. Particularly the three wedges, blue, white and dark, and the way they’re broken with complex shapes somewhere between dancing figures and runes. Knowing these are derived from a burned area – particularly in the context of the fires in Alberta, makes it even more interesting.

    • Thanks Tony, that’s how i know a painting is done when I can’t think of anything more to add. Yes we are having a lot of large fires these days in north western Canada. The Little Bobtail Lake fire was around this time last year.

  2. And as with the fires in Alberta perhaps the sky should be an un-natural and terrifying red giving more expressive and abstract emotional power to the horror unfolding. That’s what I think I would do. What you already have is fantastically wild and graphic. It just needs that extra step of crazy colour to take you onto another level! Hope you don’t mind me offering these observations.

    • Hi David, thanks for your observations and suggestions, I really appreciate your comment. I think it needs something more too and i may just do that reddish sky!

Leave a Reply

