my thoughts about logging and art

DSC_9659smDSC_9661smDSC_9662sm

Day 3 on this skidding painting, not done yet…

I’m exhibiting my logging paintings next week. Eleven paintings that celebrate the work of logging.

I got several comments from bloggers that logging makes them sad. I’ve thought a lot about this. In the Central Interior of BC, logging is what we do.  All of my family has worked in the forest industry. Logging puts food on all our tables.

I’ve done artwork about the forest for many years. I painted the many different changes that happen to the forest. I was inspired by the pine beetle epidemic that killed almost all of our pines in BC, our most common tree. Logging also changes the forest, so I decided to do a painting about logging. My brother, a logging contractor, invited me to go along to work with him and so for two years I’ve been making paintings about the work of logging and the logged scenery.

It may seem strange, but I find beauty in the chaos of a cutblock. I know the trees will grow again.  I don’t think logging is perfect, but it doesn’t make me sad.

 

 

10 responses to “my thoughts about logging and art

  1. Annerose, your brushwork is exquisite… thanks for the close ups. Love the energy in this one! I really feel the movement of the equipment and all the felled trees swirling around… fantastic. Interesting story about you and your family’s work, and congratulations on your exhibition.

    • Hi Bill
      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comments. And for your support over time, too. It means a lot to me to have people in forestry appreciate my work.

  2. Excellent compositions.

    There is a disconnection between resource industries and the urban techno-business centred urban communities. There is a linkage between environment and community that is distorted and misunderstood. Part of that misunderstanding can lead to mismanagement of the resources. The other part is perception that all the industries function in way that is destructive. Those that do so, in this age of mass media, risk undermining all resource based economies.

    • Hi Joseph
      Thanks so much for your very thoughtful comments. I agree! There has always been a disconnect between the urban and rural, but I see this hatred of industry as a problem. I think people rightly revere the environment, I do, but it is possible for them to co-exist. Everyone uses materials produced by industry. It’s an interesting area of tension to explore with art.

Leave a Reply

