trees

DSC_6723smDSC_6717sm.jpg

6 responses to “trees

      • I think that if you add or change anything, it might disturb the freeness of it? There is great layering here, with the dark showing through, and I think the spontaneity of the trees is wonderful. Doing anything more might take some of that away?

        I know for me that I have the urge to keep painting when I should stop because I like painting. It’s hard for me to tell if the picture needs more, or I need more. Maybe that’s the question here?!

        Does this make ANY sense!

      • Thanks for your comment, Claudia. Knowing when to stop with a painting is for sure difficult. Sometimes, as you suggest, a person keeps painting for themselves, and that’s not always best for the painting. I usually quit when I don’t know what more to do and that’s where I’m at with this one.

      • You are so right. If it is no longer sending you signals of wanting more, it is ready to be finished. I guess like my son when he was no longer hungry, he pushed the plate away and stopped eating. Not like me, I wanted to keep on, and painting is like that too! I’ve found it helps me to work on more than one thing at a time; it seems to keep me away from each piece long enough to let it rest, and also, I get to keep painting.

Leave a Reply

