daily drawings in February

My mail order art supply place put out a challenge this month #OpusDailyPractice. February was a pretty dreary month, lots of endless snow and gray dark skies and this was just the thing to cheer me up. I set myself a few limitations: no painting or photography (art practices I already spend many hours a day doing), just drawing, and that needed to be from life or from imagination, not from photos.

So, it was FUN! I experimented with many different media and surfaces, connected to what other artists were doing and I rekindled my old love for drawing.

Here is my month of daily drawings:

feb 1 sm feb 2 sm feb 3 sm 2 feb 4 sm feb 5 sm feb 6sm feb 7sm feb 8sm feb 9sm2 feb 10sm feb 11sm feb 12sm feb 13 feb 15 sm 3 feb 15 sm 1 feb 15 sm 2 feb 16sm feb 17sm feb 18sm feb 19sm feb 20sm feb 21 2 sm feb 21 sm feb 22 sm feb 23 sm feb 24 2sm feb 24 sm feb 25 sm feb 26sm feb 27sm feb 28sm

11 responses to “daily drawings in February

  1. Last year I made myself draw an item from my home every day from January to July. It was a great experience and helped me make art part of every day. I hope it was a great experience for you too.

    • Thanks for your visit and comment Deb. It has been a good experience, I think I’ll keep going. I paint almost each day, but it’s been great to add a bit of drawing.

  2. Love these! Are you framing them?
    I specially like those on brown paper, and the abstract ones, and the trees, and the birds, …

    • Thanks so much Ana for your kind comment, I like the brown paper too. They are all taped into a sketchbook at the moment.

  3. Wonderful! Drawing is such a compelling medium unto itself. Love that eye, hand, brain connection as evidenced by creating a mark on a surface.

  4. Cool shorebirds and pussy willows! And thank you so much for your very positive presence on my blog–you often make my day a better one 🙂

    • Thanks so much Jill for your kind comment. Your blog often improves my day too! I think we share a love of the tangle of nature.

  5. Wonderful! I love how you can see some drawings leading into others. Love the diversity of styles and exploration. I’m in the process of doing a 30 day painting challenge as fast as I can…lol and I find after awhile that you start to move out of your comfort zone and start really letting go. Like Julie Cameron’s Morning Pages – you write pap for the first page and then your brain lets its guard down and you just have some fun. 🙂

    • Hi Grant, thanks so much for your kind comment, I never realized how the drawings lead from one to another. I’m hooked now, keeping going for another month anyway. I tried those morning pages a long time ago and I just turned out pages of “I hate writing” so I did daily drawing pages instead, much better for me. When I started painting every day I sort of left drawing behind. So happy to rediscover it.
      PS I love your daily paintings!

  6. Pingback: selling daily drawings at garden tea | Annerose Georgeson·

Leave a Reply

