A couple notes about rhythm

DSC_2902sm

My painting rhythm is very different at different stages of the painting. At the start of the painting everything is fast and loose and the farther I go, more slow and more deliberate I move. Also my main task in painting is to find the rhythm within the painting itself. The subject is old pine cones and some very new young trees on a clearcut in very early spring.

6 responses to “A couple notes about rhythm

    • Thanks so much for your kind comment, Simon.
      I really appreciate your compliment and I’m so glad that you like the subject of clearcuts.

    • Anita, how poetic! Thank you so much for your very kind comment, waves and swells are definitely what I’m after, just some ay to move through the piece. Earth waves, I love it!

  1. I admire your style so much – it’s always such a treat to see what you’re working on. And. . .I keep meaning to try making some mail art pieces using upcycled blue jeans. I’ll be sure to give you credit for the idea as soon as I figure out how to solve the various technical problems associated with making envelopes out of old clothes. . .and getting the stamps to stay stuck!

    • Thanks so much for your very kind comment, I’m so happy that you enjoy my art! The mail art idea is intriguing, but you don’t need to give me credit, I know people have been painting on many different surfaces for a long time. As for the stamps, maybe laminate them and sew them on?

Leave a Reply

