The story of my snowshoe/photo

 

My daughter gave me snowshoes for Christmas a few years ago.They’re great! I used to cross-country ski but snowshoeing gets me around better through the bush. I have a some small trails at my place and  usually take my dog for a snowshoe/photo for an hour or two at least once on the weekend.

Lots of paintings come from these snowshoe/photos.

DSC_8606sm
This part of my snowshoeing trail is the old stump road that connected two different fields. It’s all one field now.

DSC_8599sm
The bush along the side of the stump road.

DSC_8596sm
Rabbit (snowshoe (hehe) hare) tracks, there are always lots of these.

DSC_8350sm
The field with an old moose track.

DSC_8587sm
I try to break some new trail each time, here you can see my dog Kyle “swimming” through the deep snow following my track back.

DSC_8479sm
You can see where moose chewed the bark of poplars. I don’t see how they can like it, it tastes so awful.

DSC_8626sm
Cutting back through the bush to my place, hard to avoid twigs in my hair.

DSC_8630sm
And over an old beaver dam, this part of the trail is so well packed I can walk on it with my boots. The beavers don’t live here anymore, there’s not enough food for them anymore. There used to be a lot of young poplars along the swamp but the spruce grew up. Also muskrats moved in and apparently they don’t get along. The forest, it’s a live thing, and changes.

DSC_8636sm
The view of the cattail swamp with the willows all red, they feel the coming spring.

DSC_8641sm
Kyle looking over the cattails. He sees a chickadee, that and a hairy woodpecker are the only wildlife we see today.

DSC_8647sm

DSC_8649sm
And here is my home.

Leave a Reply

