Payne’s gray

The beetle killed pine forest

DSC_6908sm
and with the purple undercoat cropped off:

DSC_6908editsm

I was just not able to get the tree bark to be the right colour of gray. Finally, in desperation, I used some of that great navy blueish Payne’s Gray (one of my favourite colours!) to darken the black in the background. Voila! Everything else looks warmer, slightly more orange and or yellow. Yay!  Now I just need to add fine yellowish gray lines in the foreground. Maybe… maybe not…

Anyway it’s almost done.

…lots of different grays…

DSC_6911sm

DSC_6910sm

16 responses to “Payne’s gray

    • Hi Jade’s Dad
      Thanks for your comment and visit! It’s great to get feedback on my brushstrokes because I really feel that’s not my strength…

  1. Payne’s Grey was a favourite of mine when used as a glaze for darks, especially over blue. I have just started using it again but in moderation.

    • Hi Marco
      I agree moderation is pretty important, it’s quite garish. I first loved Payne’s gray mixed with white for a perfect sky colour.
      Thanks so much for coming to visit! I really appreciate our feedback.

  2. very moody…I love it. You want to go back into those dark recesses, but then those yellow horizontal strokes are calling you to stay in the light. Beautiful strokes…thanks for the close ups, Annerose.

    • Thanks Anita. You’ve got the idea of this painting exactly.
      It really is an oppressive dark dead forest.
      And thanks for your supportive comment about the closeups, I mostly feel like I’m fumbling with the brush..

  3. I love Payne’s gray and it’s addition does help the suggestion of space in your painting. What’s the story with the beetle killed trees?

    • Here’s the story of the Mountain Pine Beetle in BC. It’ a native beetle that got way out of control, partly due to climate change but mainly because we didn’t allow forest fires to burn. This resulted in way too much overmature pine in our area.We live on a high mountain plateau, about 80% of all the trees are lodgepole pines. And they almost all died. All my pines died too. it was really devastating for the whole area.
      There’s been a boom in logging as the mills try to salvage as much as possible before the trees fall over. All this happened about 7 years ago and in the meantime young trees are just growing like crazy.
      The whole thing has had a huge impact on my artwork.

      • Thank you for the explanation about the Mountain Pine Beetle. It seems trees everywhere in our country are being stressed by insects and diseases beyond the norm. In my part of the world, we are fearing that the Emerald Ash Borer will destroy our ash trees as it has in other places in this region. At least new pines are coming up for you…not sure that our ash trees will recover once the infestation begins.

      • I think it is the same story for trees all over the world. Some of the pests are from interlopers from elsewhere and some from climate change. I think that after awhile there will be a new level, a new norm for each area, in the meantime we mourn the trees that we see dying. I’m very sorry about your ash trees.

  4. Last summer, I drove through hundreds of miles of forest devastated by the pine beetle on my way from the coast to Kamloops. I think you have caught the colour and look of those forests perfectly.

    • Thanks so much for your kind words! I’m so happy that my work reminded you of your drive through the devastated forest. That forest continues to Vanderhoof many hundreds of miles past Kamloops and beyond. But…. little pine trees are growing up all over throughout it….

Leave a Reply

