strong feeling of place

DSC_6321sm

Another new start, this image is the forest as it is, before any changes.

I stapled the canvas to my sheet of plywood and painted it with several layers of colours for the purple undercoat. (Why purple? The most important colour of the image is that yellowish-greenof the moss, and purple is the complementary to that. That’s my current underpainting system…) Then I did a quick bunch of painting to lay in the basic shapes with my big house painting brush. It always surprises me that the paintings at this rough early stage already have the strong feeling of place.

Leave a Reply

